Against the Wall – Julie Prestater

Date read: 28th December 2013
Publisher: Kindle
Length: 298 pages
Format: E-book
Source: Free purchase on Amazon

 

Shelly Gelson had it all…a job teaching English at Carver High, her best friend, Mel, working by her side and engaged to her high school sweetheart, Chase Marino. That is until Chase breaks her heart and leaves her for another teacher at the school. Now Shel is left broken hearted and trying to figure out what she wants while watching Chase and the home wrecker make moon eyes at each other.

Enter Matt Fuller, Shel’s friend for the past 5 years and the perfect rebound. He’s gorgeous, smart, funny and fits into Shel’s idea of the right guy. Only problem is there may be more there then just a simple rebound. Is it a way to fill a void left by Chase, or is there more smoldering between these two friends?

Find out what happens when the bell rings and the teenage drama ends and the adult drama begins. Who says being a teacher is boring? They obviously haven’t met the teachers at Carver High.

I downloaded this book as a free purchase on my Kindle quite some time ago… I think I originally heard of it on Maryse’s site www.maryse.net and downloaded it straight away, only to let it sit and wait for who knows how long.  Over the Christmas period I was looking for a quick read to blow away the cobwebs and opted for this.

Shelly is a sympathetic enough main character, who’s been dumped by her long-term boyfriend and then starts a relationship with her good friend and fellow teacher Matt.  Concurrently, her best friend Mel is having marital problems and becomes closer to Shelly’s brother Tyler (a companion novel, Between the Sheets, deals with Mel and Tyler’s relationship).

I’m finding it difficult to write this review… the book was well-written and I read it in just over a day despite working today, but I never felt as though I got to know the characters’ views or personalities relating to anything other than their relationship issues.  Yes, Shelly loves beer and won’t even contemplate dating a guy who prefers wine coolers.  She’s sarcastic, and has mother issues. Yes, Matty can be more feminine than his girlfriend, and Mel’s Hispanic.  That’s about it.  It’s such a shame, because the dialogue was really good on the whole…

Could he be prosecuted for murder?  Cause of death: broken heart.  Murder weapon: words laced with bullshit.  It’s me who should be thrown in jail for eating up every one of those words.  But I can’t help myself.

but I don’t feel as though I got to know the characters enough to work out if I would want to be friends with them in real life, which is the litmus test for a good book (even if I don’t like the characters, at least they’re fleshed out enough for me to decide that).

To conclude, I don’t think I’ll be seeking out the companion novel… but you never know.

 

Leave a Reply

